Learn Something New Every Day!

IMG_9678It was a great afternoon drive.  I did not expect to see many wildflowers at all on this little excursion.  Maybe—if I were lucky—a few blooms would still be holding out.  But it was a glorious day for a drive, so I took off anyway.  I had never been to Carrizo Plain National Monument, even though it is less than 100 miles away from my home in Bakersfield, California. I started driving east on Highway 58.

IMG_9723Heading northeast across the Temblor Range, I eventually drove down into the Carrizo Plain. The main road across this largest remnant of the original habitat of the San Joaquin Valley is Soda Lake Road.  Parts of the road are not paved, but they are pretty well maintained.  Although the area can look dry and harsh, it really is home to abundant flora and fauna now and in the wetter climate of the past. Native tribes have lived in the area since at least 10,000 years ago and homesteaders started moving into the area in the early 1800s.

IMG_9645

IMG_9735

IMG_9677

IMG_9731

IMG_9733

IMG_9741

IMG_9742

IMG_9744

IMG_9685

IMG_9686

IMG_9688

IMG_9658Today, a few wildflowers were evident on my drive as well as lots of birds (black birds, ravens, meadow larks) and a few small scurrying squirrels.  Of course, only the wildflowers were willing to pose!  

IMG_9657

IMG_9672

IMG_9669

IMG_9705

IMG_9706

IMG_9715

IMG_9753

IMG_9755

IMG_9761

IMG_9762

Soda Lake was intriguing as it stretched for what looked like miles across the hills.  The white crust atop its 3,000 acres is comprised of sulfates and carbonates, resulting from the evaporation of mineral-laden surface water.  The winds stirred up a white dust devil swirling across the lake.

IMG_9682

IMG_9697

IMG_9692

IMG_9693

IMG_9712

I was able to visit the Carrizo Plain this spring because steps have been taken to preserve the area.  In 1988, a joint effort of the United States Bureau of Land Management, the California Department of Fish and Game, and the Nature Conservancy pulled resources to buy about 82,000 acres within the Carrizo Plain.  In 1996, an official joint initiative was started to work on preserving the location.  Finally, on 17 January 2001, President Bill Clinton designated the area as the Carrizo Plain National Monument and soon after its area increased to its current size of almost 247,000 acres (about 50 miles long and 15 miles across).

IMG_9750

If you have not visited the Carrizo Plain National Monument yet, plan a trip.  The area contains several interesting geological features such as a clear view of the San Andreas Fault along Wallace Creek; Painted Rock, a 4,000 year old sandstone formation that is covered with native pictographs; and Soda Lake, a dry lake bed that covers almost 3,000 acres.   On today’s visit, I did not take any of the hikes out to view these specific features; some of them are only accessible via guided yours.  Next time.  Probably in March, when more of the wildflowers might be in bloom.

IMG_9764

Is there a hidden gem near you that you love to visit and wish more people knew about?  

Comments on: "AN AFTERNOON DRIVE: Carrizo Plain" (8)

  1. Looks fascinating. I love the empty roads. I think I am a country girl at heart.

  2. Desert wildlife and indigenous growth never ceases to amaze me – given the environment. Maybe this explains why I live in the desert. 🙂 Enjoyable post. Thank you.

    • Thanks for stopping by. I love hearing from fellow desert-lovers. It amazes me when people look at the desert and do not see its variety and beauty.

  3. Nice photos. I’ve never heard of the place, but maybe one day I will get to visit there. Can’t say I know of any hidden gems, wish I did though.

    • Thanks for stopping by. Well, so many of the walks you take at Yosemite are ones others may not even think to take. Of course, just noticing nature wherever we are is such a delight!

  4. […] wildflowers into brilliant eruptions across fields and along roadsides.  I took several drives early in spring, admiring the wildflowers dancing along the route.  I even caught the end of a Megabloom in Death […]

  5. […] The first time I visited Carrizo Plain National Monument was in April 2016.  At that time, I was impressed by its vastness and stark views, and I enjoyed the occasional blossoms alongside the road.  The history and geology of the area are fascinating as well.  The park ranger advised I come back in March next time if I wanted to see more flowers. […]

Leave a comment