Learn Something New Every Day!

I swear!  Just yesterday it was January 2012.  So what happened to the last 4 months?  Or what happened to me during these last four months?  When I look back, I start to see some details that might suggest what has been going on:

  • I lose time.  I am sitting down to watch TV or read or something and next thing I know it is morning—or at times it seems to be days later when I am next aware of what is happening around me.
  • I feel isolated, violated at times.  This usually happens when I am barraged by Facebook messages or emails from various companies insisting/suggesting what other items I might want to buy.  At times these feelings surface when watching general news stories about stealth helicopters and hidden GPS trackers and such other horrors out in the real world.
  • At other times I feel frightened about the future.  This is typically in reaction to news items about politics and upcoming elections—and the increasing onslaught of reality TV. Those Hulu Commercials about aliens using television to numb our minds so “They” can eat our brains do not seem so far-fetched anymore.
  • Often I awake from a fitful sleep with an ever increasing number of aches and pains that I cannot account for, black and blue marks that just appear—as well as the need lately for extensive dental work.

I can only draw one logical conclusion:  I have been abducted by aliens, over and over again.  That has to be it!  I will stay more vigilant in the hopes of thwarting future abductions, so I can get back to my usual routines.  Wish me luck.

My first attempt at getting back to normal is to share my goals and expectations for the rest of the year, an entry I had planned to write back in January in conjunction with my birthday.  But here it is now, 4.5 months later.  I started this sort of review last year when I shared some goals to be completed by the time I turned 57 years old.  This year my plan involves working on 8 goals to be completed by the time I turn 58 (January 2013).  Here’s my list:

  1. Last year, I planned to launch a website to advertise my skills as an educational consultant.  The page exists, but diligent exploration of jobs has taken a back seat.  This year, I will keep this goal.  I have some revisions planned for the website and have started a campaign to reach out to community colleges in the state.  So now I just need to put my plans into action!
  2. Last year, I worked on sorting and scanning some old family photos, both mine and my parents’. I accomplished quite a bit, but the task is ongoing as more and more photos surface. 
  3. Plus I need to re-do some of the photo scanning I completed last year.  I did not get some of what I had accomplished already backed-up and my laptop died.  Tough lesson:  always back up whatever you are working on!  This task needs to be an ongoing task—one that I need in print to help me remember how important it is!
  4. Last year, I listed eating healthier and exercising more as two separate items.  I had limited success in each area, but these—too—need to become ongoing tasks if they are really going to become just my normal routine.  So, they remain a stated goal this year!
  5. Last year, I talked about reading more, especially attacking the long to-read list that has been in existence for years.  I have been reading more, and more and more.  I even took some items off the list, knowing they were no longer addressing my interests.  This year, in addition to keeping up with my reading, I plan to start writing some book reviews as part of my blog.  I hope to share at least one review before this month is over, and then get in the habit of writing two reviews a month, at a minimum.  
  6. Last year, I planned to recreate some of the nature writings I completed in the past so they would be accessible via an online format, if I chose to go that route.  I have found some of the hard copies of my older work and have the photos mostly scanned and ready to go.  I have even explored some online self-publishing sites. But this project really has not been completed, so it remains on my list.
  7. I miss getting out and about to take photos.  For the last several years, I have not really taken any vacations, even mini-trips, so have not taken many new photos.  My goal this year is to enjoy some trips, even if only day or weekend excursions.  This goal has the added benefit of helping me enjoy Nature a bit more than I do through my usual day-to-day routine.  Enjoying Nature makes everything better! 
  8. My final goal for this year, well for the rest of this year, is to work on downsizing the stuff in my apartment.  I have a couple chairs I want to give to the Salvation Army, but I still have not called for a pick-up.  I have boxed some other items but there are more closets and drawers to go through.  And the shelves of books really need to be culled, but that task is very, very daunting.  It is really hard to think about giving away books.

So, these are the 8 major tasks I will complete by the time I turn 58 years of age in January 2013.  They seem more likely to be accomplished, once I make them public.  Of course, I really need to be able to eliminate the alien abductions in order to work on these with any sense of dedication and diligence.  Wish me luck!

What have you been doing, or not doing, thus far this year?

Any other alien abductees out there?

Comments on: "IT’S ABOUT TIME: 8 by 58" (11)

  1. I don’t think I’ve been abducted by aliens (yet?), but I’m definitely becoming more and more familiar with the sensation time has disappeared . . . without my having accomplished much of anything, in most cases! I seriously couldn’t tell you what I’ve done this year, apart from writing a bunch of blogs, working, and snuggling with my little one.

    It’s good to see you around these parts and to see your goals. I’ve found it easier to keep the goals I’ve written on my blog and hope you’ll find the same!

    • Thanks for stopping by and offering some shared commiseration. I am just glad to still have anyone checking in, as I have been gone more than here this year. The goal is to get back on track. I do keep reading most of your posts!

  2. Hi Patti – I’ve done some of the things on your list…I jog regularly and try to eat right. I’ve cooked/baked over 60 new recipes this year. I did a lot of photo scanning last year. Also last year I minimized a lot of things in my house (feels so much better). Took a few art classes this year and photography classes. Ran a half marathon, joined toastmasters and traveling/photographing quite a bit. Sometimes it doesn’t feel like you get anywhere quickly, but when you list it out…you see progress has been made. One area I need to concentrate on is finding a job I like. Happy Sunday!!

    • I will try listing out what all has been done. I like your perspective that we get so caught up in what we are not doing, that we might forget what all is really happening. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Yay, Patti! It’s nice to “hear” your voice again! I’ve been working on my goals, as well, and I don’t think I would have gotten this far (not far at all) if I hadn’t posted them. I’ve been doing monthly updates, and I’ll have to do one at the end of next week – but it will be awful. I have done terribly in April!

    I hope you do well on your goals! As long as we keep plugging away, at least we will accomplish something, right?

    • Thanks for stopping by–and offering encouragement. You are right, if we keep moving forward we will get something done. I like that sentiment.

  4. I can completely sympathize with you about being behind on everything. If I take a weekend off and don’t get on the computer or iPad, I have so many emails and blog posts to catch up on it’s completely overwhelming. I keep wanting to simplify, and declutter, and downsize, but technology keeps getting in the way! Glad to see you’re back in the blogging world.

  5. After commenting on your Earth Day post, I scrolled, saw this, and smiled! Simply wishes toward your goals … and I’ll be selfish by saying I hope to see you posting more often. 🙂

  6. […] am also not the best at being patient.  But I’m trying!  Throughout the year, I did work on the eight goals I had in place for 2012, but I never fully finished all of them. I am consistently reading more now—and that habit will […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

