Learn Something New Every Day!

NATURE PHOTOGRAPHY DAY

“To walk in nature is to witness a thousand miracles.”  Mary Davis

Who knew?  June 15 has been designated by the North American Nature Photography Association as NATURE PHOTOGRAPHY DAY since 2009.  Did you know?  I didn’t.  Fortunately, even in my ignorance, I have been celebrating this holiday extensively throughout any given year anyway.

It is easy to take nature photographs.  One way to take nature photos is to go to incredible places—like Yosemite National Park or Monument Valley—and snap away at all you see.  However, you do not have to go anywhere special to enjoy Nature and capture its essence on film.  You can find the beauty, wonder and solace of Nature just about anywhere. Just take the time to notice what is around you.

Some of my favorite subjects are birds and trees and flowers. 

If you want to celebrate Nature Photography Day, just grab a camera and head outside. You can sit quietly for a bit in a garden, wander the sidewalks in your neighborhood or take a drive along a country road, even a highway once you are out of the city.  See what nature speaks to you.  Then capture the interaction by clicking the shutter.

Beware: Capturing the beauty and wonder of Nature in a photo can be habit-forming.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

QUOTES ABOUT NATURE

“We do not see Nature with our eyes, but with our understandings and our heart.”  William Hazlitt

“Adopt the pace of Nature; her secret is patience.”  Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Sometimes I arrive just when God’s ready to have someone click the shutter.”   Ansel Adams

“Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.”  Kurt Vonnegut

“If you truly love Nature, you will find beauty everywhere.”  Vincent Van Gogh

“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul alike.”  John Muir

“Nature, Time and Patience are the three great physicians.”  H. G. Bohn

“Some old-fashioned things like fresh air and sunshine are hard to beat.”   Laura Ingalls Wilder

“At some point in life, the world’s beauty becomes enough.”   Toni Morrison

“I go to nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in order.”   John Burroughs

“Once destroyed, Nature’s beauty cannot be repurchased at any price.”  Ansel Adams

“There’s something of the marvelous in all things nature.”  Aristole

“A morning glory at my window satisfies me more than the metaphysics of books.”   Walt Whitman

“Look deep into Nature, and then you will understand everything better.”   Albert Einstein

“Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.”   Lao Tzu

“Just feel the magic in the air and the power in the breeze.  Feel the energy of the plants, the bushes, and the trees.  Let yourself be surrounded by nature at its best.  Calm yourself, focus, and let magic do the rest.”   Sally Walker

Comments on: "NATURE PHOTOGRAPHY DAY" (19)

  1. There was a time when I would have known in was National Photography Day. (You may recall me posting celebrations for each month (at the beginning of the month) and each week and day (at the beginning of the week).

    Our surroundings do offer so much to see for anyone who takes time to look.

    Great collection of pics … my fav is the one with the road in the forest.

    • Frank: I do remember that you often posted monthly celebrations–always fun! I’ve since subscribed to a notice service that my sister alerted me to. Fun! I agree that many people do not take the time or build the habit of noticing the little things around them. We can get so busy–sad indeed. One blogger I follow occasionally posts under the heading “What the Dog Sees”–always something rather fun and detailed. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Lovely images, Patti, and sentiments I can only nod in agreement with!

    • Thanks. Given the glorious images you share, I appreciate your compliment. Given our shared love of nature, I understand that we share the same sentiments about Nature and Photography.

  3. GAH! I can’t believe I missed Nature Photography Day, Patti — those being two of my favorite things. But you’ve more than made up for any disappointment with your GORGEOUS photos, and the wonderful quotes you’ve compiled. Thank you for this beautiful post!

    • I know what you mean. Its existence surprised me too! Thanks for stopping by! I always have fun searching out some pertinent quotes!

  4. Wow, some really nice photos, Patti.

  5. […] It is always a delight to capture nature up close and personal.  But I have recently shared some favorite nature photos, so a repeat did not seem necessary.  Certainly, the history of the camera from the original […]

  6. I need to jump on the nature photography day band wagon. This is awesome. I love your photos:)

    • Thanks. I think you will have fun! For me, it is a great “reason” to get out in nature and just be–sitting and watching is the start of a good photo!

  7. Very true, my problem is I’ll end up with a ton of photos but use very few, I critic my photos too much.

    • Ah, the perfectionism problem. One of the things I like about digital (vs. “real” film) cameras is how easy it is to experiment and then delete. For me a “perfect” photo reminds me of the day! Have fun.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

