Learn Something New Every Day!

In mid-May 2017, I visited the Los Angeles County Arboretum.  It is a delightful garden that was just minutes from my childhood home.  We visited there often as a family and with out-of-state visitors.  Then, as an adult, I often visited with my dad as we both liked taking photos of the flowers and peacocks.  But I have not been there for years, so I really enjoyed visiting there again.

My main reason for visiting the Arboretum was to seek out the Jacaranda, which would be in bloom.  The purple blossoms are especially appealing.  This year, given the rains breaking the seven-year drought, I was hopeful the trees would be especially bountiful.  I was not disappointed.  The trees themselves dotted the landscapes, adding color to the vistas.

Of course, there were other flowers about as well.  The Rose Garden, although starting to wane, offered some beautiful blossoms.

I always love the wide open spaces and the trees that offer shade for visitors.

The tall stately Magnolia Trees were even in bloom.

As I strolled, peacocks were about as well, but they were not displaying their magnificent tail feathers.

Of course other blossoms were around as well, especially in the drought-resistant display.

At the end of the afternoon, everyone started heading to the exit, ending a great day.

If you have not visited this delightful garden, I suggest you do so.  Each season there is typically something gorgeous in bloom.  I hope to visit on a more regular basis, starting this year.  If you just let yourself wander the garden and enjoy Nature, I guarantee you will have a great afternoon and will probably leave happier than when you started.

“Happiness is like a butterfly.  The more you chase it, the more it will elude you, but if you turn your attention to other things, it will come and sit quietly on your shoulder.”   Henry David Thoreau

 

Comments on: "SEARCHING FOR SPRING, PART 9: Los Angeles County Arboretum" (2)

  1. Such a pretty place to visit.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

