Learn Something New Every Day!

I needed a day out in Nature! 

“I go to nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in order.”   John Burroughs

 “Wilderness is not a luxury but a necessity of the human spirit.”   Edward Abbey

I continued my Search for Spring by driving into the hills southwest of Maricopa, California.  My goal was to find the Bitter Creek National Wildlife Refuge.  It is closed to the public, but the roads that run along its perimeter promised great views of the area.  There was a slim possibility that I might see some Condors soaring on the thermals, but that did not happen on this cloudy gray day.

One set of directions I found online said to take Klipstein Canyon Road until it connects with Cerro Noroeste Road that parallels the wildlife refuge.  Only Klipstein Canyon Road no longer allows the public to traverse its entire length.  The few miles I traveled were pretty and rather desolate but also offered some flowers and birds. I even enjoyed the occasional “Private Property” signs.

Greater Roadrunner

California Quail

I finally found Bitter Creek National Wildlife Refuge via Cerro Noroeste Road. This route was also rather isolated and punctuated with occasional flowers and grand vistas.  Next year, I will drive this route a bit earlier in the year when I bet more flowers will be in bloom.

Horned Larks Were Around Singing, But Not Getting Very Close

Cerro Noroeste Road eventually looped onto Mil Portrero Road and then Cuddy Valley Road, leading me up to Pine Mountain before hitting I-5 to drive home.

All in all, I found some great views, a few flowers and a couple birds.

It was a wonderful afternoon!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

A FEW QUOTES ABOUT THE POWER OF NATURE

“Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better.”   Albert Einstein

“Study nature, love nature, stay close to nature.  It will never fail you.”   Claude Monet

“We do not see nature with our eyes, but with our understandings and our hearts.”   William Hazlitt

“Adopt the pace of nature:  her secret is patience.”   Ralph Waldo Emerson

“In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.”   Margaret Atwood

“Those who contemplate the beauty of the earth find reserves of strength that will endure as long as life lasts.  There is something infinitely healing in the repeated refrains of nature—the assurance that dawn comes after night, and spring after winter.”   Rachel Carson

Comments on: "SEARCHING FOR SPRING, PART 7: Finding Bitter Creek National Wildlife Refuge" (10)

  1. Thanks for sharing your nature drive with us, Patti.

  2. Lovely photos of a beautiful place and its wonderful inhabitants!

    I wonder if that poor sheep was caught trespassing? 😀

  3. You really do get all over the place. I’m impressed.

  4. It felt like I was on the road with you. Do you ever get nervous being out there alone?

    • Surprisingly, I do not. Just lucky, I think, that nothing problematic has happened. If something had happened, I am sure I would be more reticent now. A friend and I did get stuck atop a mountain once, but a tow truck finally arrived and–in about three minutes–pulled us free from an odd sand trap on an unpaved road–and we were once again on our way!

  5. I just had the pleasure of reading in one sitting your entire “Searching for Spring” series. What a spectacular color and beauty bonanza! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful photos and stories, Patti, as well as all those poignant quotes!

    • Cheryl: Glad you enjoyed my forays into spring color. It sure has been fun to go out to find the wildflowers–and all so relatively close to home!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

