Learn Something New Every Day!

75 Years Ago Today

On this day 75 years ago, Dorothy Birkemoe and Raymond F. Ross were married in Chicago, Illinois. 

wedding 1

wedding 2

wedding 3

They are my parents, and I miss them dearly.  Mom died in November 2012 and Dad in February 2014.  I expect they are together in heaven, celebrating this anniversary.  Me?  I am reminiscing through many good memories as my nod to celebrating with them.  I even bought a bouquet of yellow roses—like Mom carried in her bouquet.

Today, if you are able to visit with your parents or grandparents, give them an extra hug for me.  I sure wish I could still reach out and hold Mom and Dad in a big old bear hug.  But I think they know I am thinking of them.  “Happy Anniversary, Mom and Dad.  I love you!”

A LITTLE PHOTO REVIEW OF MOM & DAD THROUGH THE YEARS

Thanksgiving 1938

Thanksgiving 1938

on bike

Mom with Dad in uniform

1955

1955

Not Long After Moving to California

Not Long After Moving to California

Mom and Dad back yard

25th Anniversary, 1966

25th Anniversary, 1966

Mom and Dad by roses

Whale Watching out of Ventura

Whale Watching out of Ventura

My Apartment in Chatsworth

My Apartment in Chatsworth

50th Anniversary, 1991

50th Anniversary, 1991

MD with Me restaurant

Free Valentine's Day Dinner at Home Buffet, If Could Prove Been Married 50+ Years! They Loved It!

Free Valentine’s Day Dinner at Home Buffet, If Could Prove Been Married 50+ Years! They Loved It!

Mom and Dad valentines day

2003

2003

2004

2004

kiss

One of Their Last Visits Together

One of Their Last Visits Together

A GLIMPSE INTO SOME OF THE DETAILS OF LIFE IN 1941

United States Population:  133,402,471

Franklin Delano Roosevelt Starts Third Term as President

Unemployment Rate:  9.9%

Japan Attacks Pearl Harbor and USA Enters World War II

“Manhattan Project” of Intensive Atomic Research Begins

New York Yankees Win World Series over Brooklyn Dodgers, 4-1

U. S. Savings Bonds Go on Sale

Bob Hope Entertains Soldiers in First USO Tour

National Gallery of Art, Washington, D. C. Opens

The Carving of Mount Rushmore Completed

FILMSCitizen Kane, Dumbo, Sergeant York, The Maltese Falcon, Dr, Jekyll & Mr. Hyde, How Green Was My Valley (Best Picture Award)

Wonder Woman Comic Begins Publication

Teflon Patented, First Aerosol Can Produced, Cheerios Introduced

POPULAR SONGS:  “Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered,” “Deep in the Heart of Texas,”  “I Don’t Want to Set the World on Fire,”  “Chattanooga Choo-Choo,” “I Got It Bad and That Ain’t Good,” “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy”

COSTS FOR SOME EVERYDAY ITEMS

Weekly Income for 40-Hour Work Week $60     First Class Postage Stamp 3 cents      Bread about 8 cents/Loaf     Milk about 54 cents/Gallon     Pepsi & Coke about 5 cents/Bottle     Coffee about 5 cents/Cup     Eggs about 20 cents/Dozen     Hershey Candy Bar about 5 cents/Bar

Comments on: "75 Years Ago Today" (4)

  1. This is a beautiful tribute to your loving parents, Patti. Thank you for sharing their touching story and wonderful photos with us. I’m glad you have such lovely memories of them and the love they shared throughout their lifetimes. Happy 75th Anniversary to them.

  2. Two people I loved very much and who had a positve impact on my love. They will never be forgotten. Thanks for sharing.

    • Mom and Dad always loved you as well. Your phone calls brightened their days. One of my favorite photos of Mon is with you and Rosalie at the zoo, in the rain yet. I would bet Dad was taking the picture.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

