Learn Something New Every Day!

Cloudy Skies

IMG_7053

“Now, if God made the clouds so beautiful, did He not mean us to gaze upon them and be thankful for them?”  Alfred Rowland

Oh, I love clouds!

IMG_5578

IMG_5508Clouds add beauty and majesty to any scene.  I recently took a road trip through the Southwest.  Some of my best memories are of the wondrous clouds that punctuated my drives along major and minor roadways.  I especially like when the cloudy sky takes over the scene, going on and on forever.  This is my first time responding to Jennifer’s One Word Photo Challenge.  This week’s theme is Cloudy, and you can see other entries here.

I have shared cloud images in the past here and here.

IMG_5483

IMG_7716

IMG_6971

IMG_6994

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 “We all live under the same sky, but we don’t all have the same horizon.”  Konrad Adenauer

“A cloudless plain blue sky is like a flowerless garden.”  Terri Guillemets

“When we look up, it widens our horizons.  We see what a little speck we are in the universe, so insignificant, and we all take ourselves so seriously, but in the sky, there are no boundaries. No difference of caste or religion or race.”  Julia Gregson

“Clouds on clouds, in volumes driven, curtain round the vault of heaven.”  Thomas Love Peacock

“These clouds are angels’ robes.”  Charles Kingsley

IMG_7476

Comments on: "Cloudy Skies" (7)

  1. Welcome to the challenge! So glad to have you 🙂 These clouds are stunning. Your images make me want to take a roadtrip oh so badly. And while I enjoy all the sunny cloud images, the storm clouds touching down on the mountains are stunning.

    • Glad to have found your challenge. I agree storm clouds are great! I was lucky on my trip to have clouds almost every day. The promise of rain rarely was realized, but the clouds were terrific. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Clouds with a bright blue sky as a backdrop are quite calming. … Then again, the dark thunderheads can heighten anxiety and alarm.

    • Frank, I agree dark ominous thunderheads can be daunting, but living in CA where we are in the 4th year of a drought and in good years do not get all that much rain, I rarely experience massive storms, so I tend to enjoy any rain. Everything is relative, I suppose.

  3. […] was a constant companion.  I was only ever really caught in a storm a couple of times, but the clouds were gorgeous almost every day.  One day, it even snowed on me in Santa Fe.  How cool is […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

