Learn Something New Every Day!

Pretty in Pink

California finally had some rain!

IMG_4123Not enough yet to compensate for a three-year drought, but it was great to hear the rain on the roof and enjoy the clouds and occasional down pours.  My area received about an inch of rain—the mountains got more but still need extensive snow pack to start to get the state back to where it should be.  Some parts of Northern California received close to 12 inches, while others that had earlier wild fires were plagued with mud slides.  Nothing is ever perfect.  But this rain adds a great element of hope to the upcoming holidays.

IMG_4037I was lucky enough to be out of town for some of the rain driving along the coast and through some rolling hills.  I slowed down for the occasional storm and marveled as the fog rolled in over hill and sea.  All around me were the muted colors of winter:  the greys and whites and varying shades of blue, offset by the muted green, yellow, and orange remnants of fall that clung to the trees.  The weather could be labeled dark, dismal or even dreary, but it was still great.

IMG_4190

IMG_4195

IMG_4108I was lucky enough to be out of town for some of the rain.  I slowed down for the occasional storm and marveled as the fog rolled in over hill and sea.  All around me were the muted colors of winter:  the greys and whites and varying shades of blue, offset by the muted green, yellow, and orange remnants of fall that clung to the trees.  The weather could be labeled dark, dismal or even dreary, but it was still great.

IMG_4066

IMG_4447In contrast to these muted tones, I was greeted by a vibrant splash of pink as I headed into my apartment Friday afternoon.  Right at my door is a poorly placed camellia bush that rarely produces blossoms in the best of springs.  I grew up in Temple City, a place that boasts camellias as its city flower and that hosts an annual Camellia Day Parade every February.  I knew December was not the right time of year for these blossoms to be on display, but there they were.  They hung quietly at the bottom of the bush, almost hidden out of sight.

IMG_4449

I took their existence as a good sign!  They represent the joy of the unexpected, the hope that Spring is on the way, the promise of Christmas right around the corner, and an immediate delight at simply being home.  I trust these flowers will brighten your day a bit as well!

IMG_4454

What are you appreciative of as Christmas approaches?

Any surprises jump out at you lately?

Let the hustle and bustle fade away and enjoy the holidays!

Comments on: "Pretty in Pink" (11)

  1. I always loved camellias too and had several bushes at my old home in Temple City. I used to clip them and let the blooms float in water. The Huntington Library and Gardens had several gorgeous bushes as well. They really are beautiful. Pretty dash of color during dreary gray of wet weather.

  2. Mom and Dad had camellia bushes too–variegated ones, I think. They are so simple and pretty–a nice surprise! I know I marched in the TC Parade once with Girl Scouts. Did you ever? Ah memories. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. What beautiful photos, Patti. Thank you for sharing them. I loved your refreshing article. Yes, it was lovely getting some rain here in Southern California. Here’s hoping for more rain — and for more beautiful flowers that will drink it in! Wishing you happy holidays.

  4. I love the camellias. Seeing color on a gray day cheers my heart.

  5. Probably a generalization, but your state seems to go from one extreme to the other … from no rain to large amounts. Do you ever get one of those easy all-day (or two) rains without much runoff? The cloudy and rainy days bring different colors from your norm, so glad you got to enjoy them.The third pic is my favorite.

  6. emilythreatt said:

    I tried to post my comment on your blog, but wordpress wouldn’t let me!

    If you have the Hallmark channel, watch the Christmas movie One Starry night. There is a lovely camellia story in it!

    Love,

    Emily

    • Sorry, Emily! Your response was caught in a spam filter–how silly is that? I appreciate your stopping by, and I will watch for that movie on The Hallmark Channel. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

