Learn Something New Every Day!

I am waiting for dinner to be delivered in my hotel room in Albuquerque, NM.  As I headed into town this late afternoon, I hit the first rush-hour traffic of my trip.  It was not terrible, but I was pleased to realize that I had not been dealing with such mundane things as traffic jams for the past several weeks. Given this is one night of traffic out of 19 days of driving, so far, I decided I would give an update about my trip by the numbers:

  •  19  Days on the Road
  •  6  More Days to Go
  •  1 Traffic Jam
  •  0 Tickets, Accidents, Flat Tires & Other Problems
  •  4  Terrific Visits with Friends & Family, 1 More Visit to Look Forward to
  •  4,179  Miles Traveled Thus Far
  • 12 States Driven Through (CA, NV, UT, CO, NE, IA, IL, MO, KS, OK, TX, NM) Thus Far
  • 11 Hotels Stayed in Thus Far, but not in eleven different states!
  • 8 Stops to Enjoy Nature and at least 2 More to Go
  • 2 Days Driving in the Rain
  • SOME Animal and Flower Sightings
  • LOTS of Bird Sightings
  • TONS of Photos Taken!

As the list suggests, I have been having a great time. 

I will be home in about a week.  Once I have sorted and edited all the many, many photos I have taken I will post about my various stops along the way.  Until then, I am off tomorrow to find some Nature to appreciate at either Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge or Cibola National Forest.  Maybe both.  Then on to visit with a friend in a few days before I head into AZ to stop at the Grand Canyon.  Eventually, I will end up back at home.

A PEEK INTO SOME OF MY WANDERINGS

 Zion National Park

Zion National Park

Bryce Canyon National Park

Bryce Canyon National Park

Coral Reef National Park

Coral Reef National Park

Some Deer Near Coral Reef NP

Some Deer Near Coral Reef NP

Canyonlands National Park, Needles Section

Canyonlands National Park, Needles Section

Colorado National Monument

Colorado National Monument

View of Pike's Peak

View of Pike’s Peak

Garden of the Gods, Colorado Springs

Garden of the Gods, Colorado Springs

 Lilacs on a Country Road near Julesberg, CO

Lilacs on a Country Road near Julesberg, CO

Tulips in Pella, IA, Home of the Tulip Festival

Tulips in Pella, IA, Home of the Tulip Festival

Sunset Near Mingo, IA "Gotta Love Those Clouds!"

Sunset Near Mingo, IA
“Gotta Love Those Clouds!”

Driving into Albuquerque, NM

Driving into Albuquerque, NM

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments on: "MY TRIP: By the Numbers" (6)

  1. I think you have a state count of an even dozen —– you didn’t count Illinois, and we surely enjoyed your being here.

    • Oh my! How could I have forgotten Illinois?! it was a great visit. I looked at my map of the general circle, not the extra trips like to see you and Jessica in Mendota. Sorry. I will make a correction.

  2. barbara said:

    Love the clouds and the long empty road. Such a feeling of freedom! Enjoy the rest of your trip. Looking forward to all the photos.

  3. Cheers to the road trip and having a great time. Thanks for sharing.

  4. […]  This spring I took a driving trip that I’ve already shared some numbers about.  My initial expectation was that I would travel about 4,000 miles over 24 days.  By the […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

