Learn Something New Every Day!

I LOVE CLOUDS!

100_1433Earlier this month, I was driving home from a short visit to Sequoia National Park.  My visit was cut short because of storms that were brewing and closing roads.  The night before there was a downpour. Storms were blowing in from the west, and rain and snow were expected by evening.  Mountain passes further south were even expected to close with snow levels reaching 3500 feet.

But that afternoon, driving home, the clouds were absolutely gorgeous!

100_1439

100_1448

100_1453

100_1454

100_1456

100_1459

100_1465

100_1469

WHAT DO YOU SEE?

100_1452

100_1455

100_1460

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 QUOTES ABOUT CLOUDS

 “You must not blame me if I do talk to the clouds.”  Henry David Thoreau

“Clouds suit my mood just fine.”   Marie Lu

“Thirty-nine years of my life had passed before I understood that clouds were not my enemy; that they were beautiful, and that I needed them. I suppose this, for me, marked the beginning of wisdom. Life is short.”   Iimani David  

“We pledge to fight ‘blue-sky thinking’ wherever we find it. Life would be dull if we had to look up at cloudless monotony day after day.”  Gavin Pretor-Pinney   

“I miss the simple pleasures like a friendly hello, an unexpected smile, really looking into someone’s eyes when speaking, random acts of kindness, and days doing nothing but lying on a blanket in the grass watching the clouds roll on by.”   Rita Said   

“My experiences remind me that it’s those black clouds that make the blue skies even more beautiful.”    Kelly Clarkson  

“If you want to relax, watch the clouds pass by if you’re lying on the grass, or sit in front of the creek; just doing nothing and having those still moments is what really rejuvenates the body.”   Miranda Kerr

“We can never have enough of nature.  We must be refreshed by the sight of inexhaustible vigor, vast and titanic features, the sea coast with its wrecks, the wilderness with its living and its decaying trees, the thunder cloud and the rain.”  Henry David Thoreau

“I came to a point where I needed solitude and just stop the machine of ‘thinking’ and ‘enjoying’ what they call ‘living’, I just wanted to lie in the grass and look at the clouds.”  Jack Kerouac

Comments on: "I LOVE CLOUDS!" (11)

  1. Those are gorgeous clouds! The landscapes in the first couple are captivating, too.

    • The clouds were fascinating, so we took back roads whenever possible to get a better chance to stop and enjoy them. Some of those early shots are near a reservoir. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Good job at capturing loads of fluff. Of the quotes, the Gavin Pretor-Pinney one would be my favorite.

    • Thanks for stopping by. I, too, like that quote a lot–anything that encourages critical thinking is great by me! However, when I look at clouds and look for images, I am more like Charlie Brown than Linus. I am more apt to see an elephant or a flower than some historical scene. I’m not certain what thinking mode that implies.

  3. I have a friend who is computer-savvy. He lives in Hayward where there are always interesting cloud formations. When he came to Yosemite, the sky was clear blue. It was pretty, but clouds always make a more interesting photo. So he inserted some of his Hayward cloud photos into his Yosemite blue sky photos. The result was….not real, but the photos looked good.

    • Oh, I do know that computers can help adjust almost any photo. Most days I am glad I do not know how to make all those changes. In Yosemite, I have noticed how a new day can give a new view–and that often means adding some clouds into the sky. Clouds or not, views of Yosemite are just gorgeous! Thanks for stopping by.

  4. […] This post is my entry for Sunday Stills The Next Challenge: Clouds–visit the site to see all the other entries.  I shared my love of clouds in an earlier post as well:  “I Love Clouds.” […]

  5. […] I have shared cloud images in the past here and here. […]

  6. […] have shared posts about my love of clouds […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

