Learn Something New Every Day!

PART OF A GREAT COMMUNITY. . . AND BEING NOMINATED FOR AN AWARD TOO!

I feel truly blessed.  I started my blog several years ago and was immediately impressed with the caring and support that were evident as part of the WordPress blogging community.  I follow many fellow bloggers and appreciate those who follow me as well.  I have been given blogging awards in the past and was even fresh pressed onceLast month, I was honored again when Fat Purple Figs named me a recipient of the Liebester Award.    

liebester award

This award is dedicated to building the blogging community by showcasing blogs that are valued and visited, so others can discover them as well.  If you have not visited Fat Purple Figs yet, please do so as she shares some creative and thoughtful comments about life.  As a nominee for the Liebester Award, I need to answer questions, share some facts about myself, and name eleven other bloggers as nominees. 

HERE ARE THE QUESTIONS I WAS ASKED TO ANSWER:

1.  What’s in a name…tell me about the name of your blog and what/who inspired it?

My blog’s name—Learn More Everyday—is actually the theme for my life.  I have always considered myself a life-long learner and encouraged learning in others.  In fact, I have been involved in education my whole life, first as a student, then as a teacher and administrator.  However, I always recognized that the best learning takes place everywhere, not just in the classroom.  You can learn from experience, people, books, problems, opportunities, everything!  In fact, if you stop learning, you stop living life to the fullest.  Thus, my motto:  Learn More Everyday!

2.  Do you blog anonymously or openly under your name? Why did you make that choice?

I blog openly under my name.  I am basically a private person, so the decision to blog included some thought about what sorts of things I would write about.  If anything were so private that I would consider not attaching my name, then it would not be something I would post at all.

3.  Is your blog secret from your friends and family? Why did you make that choice?

My blog is not a secret from anyone.  Most of my close friends and family know about my blog and read it, at least occasionally.  If others do not, it is their choice not my decision to keep my blog a secret.  Since I am not writing anything that is incredibly private, I welcome anyone to read my blog and see any photos I post.  I include a link to my blog as part of my signature line on my email, so anyone I communicate with can decide to explore my blog or not.

4.  What is your favorite word and why?

When I was nine years old and saw Mary Poppins for the first time my favorite word was Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious. Heck, I even knew the lyrics for all three verses!  But now that I am older and maybe a little wiser, I have a simpler view of the world.  Now, I cannot help but think how much better off our world would be if we all practiced a little more kindness everyday.  Thus, my favorite word is KINDNESS.

5.  What is your least favorite word and why?

Well, this is not an easy question.  I think, for me, it is a tie:  HATRED & IGNORANCE.  Many of the problems in our world—prejudice, intolerance, injustice, even war—are often an outcome of hatred or ignorance.

6.  What is your favorite smell and why?

The lovely fragrance of fresh flowers always catches my attention, especially lilacs now because those flowers remind me of my mom. Or at this time of year, burning leaves, a Christmas tree, or even the waft of cinnamon from a fresh-baked apple pie are welcomed scents. However, freshly baked bread is still my favorite, as of today anyway.

7.  What is your least favorite smell and why?

Several smells compete for this title too.  A kid’s poopy diapers, a wet dirty dog or a dead fish that is a bit too old are smells I try to avoid.  But the worst is burned popcorn!

8.  What is your favorite taste and why?

A good quality piece of sweet and luscious dark chocolate as it slowly melts in my mouth.  Yummy!

9.  What is your least favorite taste and why?

Well, people who know me might think that my answer would be bananas or peas, because I really do hate eating those.  But it is as much the texture of those items combined with the taste that has them on my do-not-eat list.  But others are even worse:  cod liver oil, the taste of a fish oil capsule when it breaks open in your mouth, that chalky junk you need to drink in the hospital before tests are run, liver and onions even though I like onions!  I am not sure which is the worst.  You pick one.

10.  Who you are you when are not blogging?

I think who I am in my blog is basically who I am.  I am always an educator—it is just a habit of mind to seek out learning and to encourage it in others.  But I am also a friend, daughter, sister, niece, lover of animals and nature, and a helper whenever possible.  I am also a reader, writer, photographer, teacher, and a care giver.  I think these different aspects of myself surface periodically in my blog.

11.  Tell me a secret that nobody would know about you?

Well, it is not a secret really, as some folks know about it.  But it is not something I scream from the roof tops or write about on my blog.  The last 3.5 years have been a challenge for many reasons, including long term recovery from surgery and the death of my mother.  But these years have also been a challenge financially.  But matters are improving, I avoided bankruptcy, am expecting a great 2014, and am better able to give gifts and donations this holiday season.  So I am very grateful—the last three plus years make me value the good times right now even more!

HERE ARE ELEVEN OTHER THINGS YOU MIGHT NOT KNOW ABOUT ME, shared in no special order.  Please note that no one said you wanted to know these things:

1.  Some days, I get my news from The Daily Show and The Colbert Report.  Well, and sometimes The Onion.  Not so good, I know—but at least the news is not so depressing that way.  A little saving grace: At least they are not my only sources for a full week! 

2.  I recently took a Quiz that answered the question, “How Millenial Are You?”  I am not sure what it means, but my score on a 1-100 scale was 54. 

3.  I watch TV too much.  Well, I have it on a lot, always have, ever since I was a kid and enjoyed watching it in the afternoons after school.  But even now, as an adult, if I am home, the set is on.  I do not literally watch it all the time, but I like the sound of it and use it as background for whatever else I am doing. 

4.  I like science fiction enough to watch (and enjoy!) tacky movies such as Godzilla and The Adventures of Buckaroo Bonzai across the 8th Dimension.  A few weeks ago I even watched the end of Star Trek: The Movie.  Now, that’s pretty bad!

5.  Unlike Penny from The Big Bang Theory who exclaims there is no difference between Star Trek and Star Wars, I prefer Star Trek.  In fact, lately I have been watching episodes of Star Trek Voyager every night on my Kindle, to help me fall asleep. 

6.  Eating healthy all the time is not easy!  Are we sure that bacon, pizza, ice cream, and fried chicken are not recommended food groups? After all, wine and dark chocolate are really good for us, right?  I think the scientists are keeping things from us again.

7.  Back in May, I started teaching writing part-time for the American Public University System. I am loving it.  Well, not the grading so much, but the interaction with students again, so directly, is marvelous.  It is enough fun that I am figuring I will keep at it even though I am officially contemplating early retirement. 

8.  I love Christmas and pull out decorations each year, but I have not put up a tree since my tree and lots of ornaments were damaged in the Northridge Earthquake (January 17, 1994).  Yeah, my tree was still up!  What’s it to you?! 

9.  I like playing games.  I am also fairly tech-savvy.  Still, the only electronic game I play is Solitaire.  It is much better than having to re-shuffle the deck all the time.   

10.  It seemed like a simple little task at first.  I needed to move and box and sort my books, so I could replace two of my bookcases with better ones, albeit one that were a bit smaller.  But then I found books I had not touched in about 30 years, and it seemed easy enough to give some away.  Well, I ended up giving away 20 boxes of books!  OMG.  I still have five bookcases full of books, and my kindle is filling up quickly.  I prefer to think that the books I gave away are really just finding new homes, as well as raising some money for the library via an upcoming Friends of the Library sale.  My home seems a little bit empty at times, but I am adjusting.

11.  Christmas is coming!  And the holidays are enhanced with all the great songs celebrating the joy of the season.  When I was 12, Christmas with Ed Ames was my favorite album.  Somehow—even back then—I really loved that a Jewish guy who played a Cherokee called Mingo on the television show Daniel Boone had created a terrific Christmas album.  “The Ballad of the Christmas Donkey” is still one of my favorites!

 MY ELEVEN NOMINEES!

As Fat Purple Figs’ nomination blog explains, there are a couple rules involved with this Liebester Award:

As Nominees, if you “choose to play along, then please include the award photo in your post, answer the eleven questions I ask you below, share eleven other facts about yourself, nominate eleven bloggers for the award, and give them eleven questions to answer. If you don’t want to participate, that is fine. Just know that I am so grateful to have found all of your blogs.” If you do participate, provide a link back to the blogger who nominated you when you share the answers and comments that will help others get to know you a bit better.

I follow many, many blogs.  Some I found when I first started blogging and enjoy them whenever they post, no matter how frequently.  Others I find as each week brings me new visitors and comments on other posts as well as fresh-pressed picks.  Not every blogger will accept nomination, and that is okay.  What matters is that others may find their way to these blogs for a visit because of the nomination.  Enjoy!

In no special order, here are my nominees:

A Frank Angle, always thoughtful, provocative and funny with thoughts on science and religion as well as great videos and post series.

Around Dusty Roads, shares travel memories of locations near and far.

Flourish!  gives a positive view on life.

The Lantern Room, shares some great photos that help you see the wonder that is always there but often overlooked.

The Monster in Your Closet, thoughtful, insightful, and never afraid to tackle topics that touch on social concerns with compassion and courage.

Slouching towards Thatcham, provides insights of a proud dad watching his kids grow up as well as some thoughtful reviews of television and film.

de Wets Wild, offers great nature shots of animals in the wild from someone who cares.

Year-Struck, insights on life that are witty and thoughtful and always make me smile

Coming East, insights on life and family disguised as musings on everyday matters

Tricia Booker Photography, terrific photography of horses, nature, and her son

Explore Newness, some tips on how to add a fresh outlook or activity into your life

HERE ARE THE QUESTIONS MY NOMINEES ARE BEING ASKED TO ANSWER:

  1. What’s in a name?  Tell me about the name of your blog and what/who inspired it?
  2. How do you quickly describe your blog to others?  You know, the elevator talk for your blog.
  3. Do you have any tricks or tips that help keep you writing every day/week/whenever?  If so, please share some advice.
  4. When not blogging, what do you do?
  5. One way I try to find balance in my life is to keep a gratitude journal.  It keeps me focused on the good around me.  How do you maintain balance/sanity in life?  Share some advice for the rest of us!
  6. What is your favorite or least favorite book, and why?
  7. What is your favorite or least favorite movie or television show, and why?
  8. What was your favorite or least favorite birthday present, and why?
  9. What is your favorite or least favorite food, and why?
  10. What is your favorite or least favorite animal, and why?
  11. What is your favorite or least favorite anything, and why?  You know, keep this mini-series going.

 PLEASE, VISIT THESE BLOGS TO EXPAND YOUR BLOGGING COMMUNITY.  

WE ARE PART OF GREAT COMMUNITY!  WE ARE SO LUCKY!

 

 

 

Comments on: "Part of a Great Community (blogging award)" (19)

  1. Great answers Patti. 🙂
    You are so right. WordPress is an amazing community. I love theses types of posts most of all because you see the person behind the words on the screen.
    Now to go and visit your nominees. I love finding interesting new blogs and meeting fascinating new bloggers.

    – KK

  2. Congratulations on the well deserved recognition Patti, and thank you for sharing de Wets Wild with your friends and followers in such kind words!

  3. Many congratulations on your Award, Patti. It’s interesting to read a little more about you.

    Thank you very much for the mention. I appreciate it.

    • It was easy to mention you in conjunction with this award–your perspective on the world that you share through your photos always delight me. I hope a few more visitors stop by to see your work.

  4. congratulations! Well deserved. Thank you for including me as a nominee! I am not sure I have 11 bloggers to nominate. I follow a few special blogs as I’m usually too busy to keep up with more.

  5. Fun reading your answers … cheers to your least favorite words, which I see as a tie to the importance of learning. That Ed Ames song is new to me … wonderful! … and thanks for the shout-out!

  6. Congratulations, Patti. You always have something interesting to say. I appreciate your kind words about my blog.

    • Thanks for stopping by. It is easy to say nice things about a blog that is smart and funny–and always a joy to read. Have a great holiday season.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

