Learn Something New Every Day!

“My teacher asked my favorite color. I said ‘Rainbow.’  I was punished to stand out of my class.”   Saket Assertive

On any given day, I am likely to give a different answer to the question, “What is your favorite color?” I guess you could say I am fickle.  I love the dark violet blue of the sky just after sunset. My favorite flowers tend to be purple (iris, Texas bluebonnet, lilacs), but oh those glorious pink roses.  The soft grey of wolves and pussy willows and kittens is amazing.  And when I see a big yellow dog, reminiscent of my long ago dog Murphy, my heart literally skips a beat.  I also love green, even speculating in the past that it was possibly God’s favorite color.

Today, my favorite color is ORANGE.  In all its shades and hues:  peach, terra cotta, sienna, vermillion, tangerine, amber, and coral just to name a few.  Orange is less vibrant than red but exudes more warmth than yellow.  It is earthy, enticing, and energetic.  According to one website, orange is associated with enthusiasm and creativity, vitality and endurance, curiosity and change. No wonder orange is a hue that speaks to me!

leaves 2

orange rose

bryce national canyon

poppies blurry

butterfly on ice plant

monument valley

sunset

angel arch

tulip fields

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I love quotes, but who would’ve thought I could find some about “ORANGE”?

 “There is no blue without yellow and without orange.”  Vincent Van Gogh

“Orange is the happiest color.”   Frank Sinatra

 “If love were a color, it’d be orange. Not because that’s a romantic color, but because it’s the sweetest.”  Jarod Kintz

“Orange is one of God’s favorite colors— He stuck it right there between red and yellow as the second color in the rainbow. He decorates entire forests with shades of orange every autumn. It shows up in sunrises at the start of the day, sunsets at the end of the day, and in the glow of the moon at the right time of night.”   Reggie Joiner

 “Orange is red brought nearer to humanity by yellow.”  Wassily Kandinsky

 “The woman had told the truth. The flowers were the color of sunset. And not the yellowish tinge of a lazy sun either, but the intense orange of a sun refusing to set on anyone else’s terms.”  Dolen Perkins-Valdez

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 This is my first time completing a weekly photo challenge.  I was inspired by the entries of two bloggers I follow: Tricia Booker Photography and  de Wets Wild.

This was fun!  What is your favorite color?

Comments on: "Weekly Photo Challenge: The Hue of You" (26)

  1. Your orange contributions to the weekly photo challenge are exquisite Patti!

    And thank you so much for mentioning de Wets Wild to your friends!

  2. Gorgeous photos of orange! So glad you joined in the fun this week and thanks for the ping back! Orange would be a very close second in my favorites. I especially love the dreamy look of the flowers!

    • Thanks for stopping by. The vibrant blue you posted was so captivating, I had to look closer. Your work is always so impeccable. For this challenge, an idea came to me right away, so I decided to give it a try.

  3. Beautiful photos and great quotes! It’s the season of orange, and I’m enjoying it immensely.

  4. Well done Patti as you captured a variety of the outstanding color, not only for fall, but for all seasons. … and I link it to my alma mater.

    • Very cool, Frank. When I was pulling this post together, I thought about doing a share-everything-about-the-topic posting ala your posts about numbers and such. The are many schools and businesses as well as historical characters and locations connected to Orange. It seems to be so much more than a word that is hard to rime and so well represents its name sake fruit!

  5. Lovely orange pictures! I don’t often consider all the various shades and hues of orange, but it is a very nice color, isn’t it? My favorite color is purple. And I also love green. I like blue, but it isn’t my favorite. But it’s the color that I associate with myself, if that makes sense.

    • It does make sense to connect a color with yourself while admiring others as well. I like most colors. The one I associate most with me is green, yet it is the one I have the least about the place (art work, clothes, jewelry, etc.). Oh well.

  6. Love the images and the quotes!

    • Thanks. I was presently surprised to find the quotes, but then I always think there will be quotes for everything and am usually not disappointed.

  7. Very nice! Welcome to the challenge – quite a post for a first effort!!!

    • Thanks–and thanks for stopping by. I am not sure I will commit to the challenge each week, but this was fun. And I am hoping to get back on a better schedule of writing more frequently.

  8. The butterfly images is my #1 pick.

    • Thanks for stopping by! Like my favorite color changes, so does my favorite shot. But I do like butterflies. I looked into your blog–so many great vivid photos and tips on taking such vibrant pictures. Very impressive!

  9. Orange is a wonderful color. Not only it reflects the Autumn season but somehow it reminds us of everything that warms and lights up our hearts. Beautiful pics.

  10. Amazing oranges hues, amazing you.

  11. Gorgeous photos! (and orange is not even my favorite color!)

    • Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you like the “oranges” I threw out there. Even on days when it is not my favorite color (that designation changes almost daily) the orange hues are sweet.

  12. […] The only real problem I can see with orange is that nothing rhymes with it.  Oh well.  I even have a playful orange elephant gracing a shelf in my house and a batik  artwork hanging on the wall that paints the sky orange.  Oh, I do love orange!  In fact, I wrote about orange before in The Hue of You Challenge. […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

