Learn Something New Every Day!

I’m not sure how it happened, but it did.  I posted a blog post on California Poppies just the other day, and now it is over a month later.  I think I must have been caught in a weird time vortex ala the best time warp potential of a Star Trek episode.  Or maybe time shrunk with all the heat that was evident in Bakersfield and elsewhere throughout the summer—you know, one of those odd effects of dry heat!  There must be a reason.  After all, I would not willingly stop keeping up with my favorite blogs or writing for my own on a (fairly) regular basis.

And what a month to miss!  Did you know that there are a lot of National Days in July worthy of celebration?  Craig Ferguson on the Late, Late Show announced that July 30th was, in fact, International Comedy Day.  Of course, he may have made that up—he is good at that.  But here are some honest-to-goodness holidays that I hope you celebrated in my absence.  This list is not complete, especially since I think you might be able to just make some of these days up.  But they were officially presented on the Internet, so they must be real.  Some days have two titles!

Here are some of the July Holidays:

July   1:  Build a Scarecrow Day (You can read Wizard of Oz if you want to!)

July   2:  I Forgot Day  AND World UFO Day

July   3:  Disobedience Day (If when told to misbehave, you do, are you really?)

July   4:  Independence Day (of course!)

July   7:  Chocolate Day (which I celebrate everyday!)

July   8:  Video Games Day

July 10:  Teddy Bear Picnic Day

July 12:  Simplicity Day AND Pecan Pie Day

July 13:  Embrace Your Geekness Day

July 14:  Pandemonium Day AND National Nude Day  (I suppose one could cause the other!)

July 15:  Cow Appreciation Day

July 17:  National Ice Cream Day

July 20:  National Ugly Truck Day AND Moon Day

July 21:  Hammock Day

July 23:  National Hot Dog Day

July 25:  Threading the Needle Day

July 26:  Aunt & Uncle Day  AND All or Nothing Day

July 27:  Bagpipe Appreciation Day

July 28:  National Milk Chocolate Day

July 29:  National Lasagna Day

July 30:  National Cheesecake Day

Murphy loved his stuffed animals

MURPHY: Rest in Peace 1974-1990

And thank goodness I am not too late:  I can celebrate Mutt’s Day today (31 July).  I am not certain how I am supposed to celebrate this day, but I will figure out something.  After all, I am a dog person.  I plan to pet dogs, look through photo albums of some of my favorite mutts, and encourage people to adopt a dog from a shelter whether mutts or not.

How did you play and have fun this past month?  Any plans for August?  I look forward to hearing from you.  And I plan to get back to reading and responding to the blogs I follow as well.  I have missed so much!

Comments on: "Oh no, a month is missing?" (14)

  1. Oh Wow, so easy to do. I lost a month from photography although I managed to keep up with my blog. I went from the 2nd week in June to the 2nd week in July without taking 1 picture! Like you say, how could that happen! Glad you are back 🙂

  2. Ha! Love that summer saps everyone’s focus, not just mine! I am so sorry to have missed some of those holidays, though.

    • Thanks. Your notice about having been away a bit from blogging jump started me into action. I think we could celebrate these days anytime we want–especially chocolate day!

  3. Maybe you got stuck on July 2, I Forgot Day! Glad you’re back!

    • Thanks. I like how that sounds–sort of a different version of Ground Hog’s Day (the movie). I am trying to set up a schedule that will keep me writing more consistently. I miss it when I don’t do it, but that does not always keep me engaged.

      • It’s tough to stick to a schedule. Your true followers will still be here no matter how long between posts.

      • Thanks. My best schedule is when I get around to it! But I am trying to be better with schedules now that I am teaching online a bit and need to get grading done on top of everything else.

  4. Welcome back Patti!!! As for August, its a month-long celebration of all things celery, fennel, cactus, goat cheese, catfish, panini, orange, and papaya.

  5. That’s a lot of holidays that I wish I knew about so I could observe them…

    Great to have you back!

    • Thanks. I am pleased that some folks kept reading. And I think we can turn back time and celebrate any of the holidays whenever we want to.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

