Learn Something New Every Day!

mom laughing 91Mom died in November 2012.  She was tired and ready to go, eager to be reunited with her sister and her mother.  I always picture them together in heaven, laughing and having a good time.  This is the first Mother’s Day when I cannot be literally with her to give her a hug and to say, “I love you.” But I have felt her with me a lot this past week.

Sisters, OR 1994

mom & gramma

squirrelFirst, Mom always enjoyed the squirrels in her back yard. This week, a squirrel wandered onto my patio and sort of looked in the sliding glass door.  That does not usually happen in my apartment complex. I have seen an occasional squirrel jumping in the trees, but that’s it.  I do not even have bird seed or nuts out for the wildlife to eat.  I figured it was Mom checking in!

hummingbird on feederThen, Dad was typically the one who filled the hummingbird feeders at their house years ago.  But Mom enjoyed watching them too, often pointing them out through the kitchen window.  Two of my upstairs neighbors hang hummingbird feeders here at my apartment complex.  The birds like it, but they are usually high up their by the balconies.  Saturday, when heading out to go see Dad for our weekly visit, a hummingbird actually buzzed me. It zipped past and then came back and hovered for a second by my face before moving on.  I figured it was Mom telling me to say hello to Dad for her.

SOME PENNIESFinally, I found a penny on the sidewalk the other day, as I came out of a restaurant.  And Saturday evening, I found another one in the parking lot when I got back from seeing Dad.  Of course, I bent down each time to pick them up. Mom always did too.  In fact, she was amazed and almost angered when people would notice them in the street but not stoop to get them because “It was just a penny.”  Growing up through the depression, she knew those pennies added up.  That I saw two this week makes me think it was Mom dropping them for me to find.  Mom loved the following poem, and I think of her whenever I see it. . . or pennies waiting to be found.

penny

me and mom about 1957I am missing Mom, today especially.  But I know she is always with me.  I expect she will be with tonight when I order pizza and watch a movie I know she’d like.  She always enjoyed our weekly movie dates.  Maybe I’ll watch Sister Act or Mama Mia because she liked the songs, or Fools Rush In for the love story!  Maybe Steel Magnolias, although that makes us both cry at times.  Whatever I watch, I expect she will be here with me.  Maybe she’ll even bring Grandma and Aunt Bernice with her.

It should be a good evening.

patti mom corpus 81

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY, MOM!    I LOVE YOU!

Comments on: "Mom Sent Pennies from Heaven" (17)

  1. Jean Albert said:

    Oh Patti, This is truly beautiful.  Please know that even though I have no hummingbirds or squirrels to send, my hugs are reaching out to you.  I am so glad that you find comfort in wonderful memories of your mom.  She was such a special person —- and so are you.                          luv, aj

    ________________________________

  2. A great post from the heart. Loved the way the squirrels, hummingbirds, and pennies all fit into your week …enjoy your day today, and may those many memories bring you joys and peace on this day.

    So what movie did you watch?

    • Thanks, Frank. The day is bittersweet, but the memories are great. I have not decided on a movie yet. More are coming to mind to choose from–The Music Man, last one we were going to watch together; Hairspray, she really got a kick out of John Travlota as a mom; and Return to Me, a sweet story I had planned on us watching soon. I’ll keep you posted.

  3. Sherry D'Attile said:

    Such a beautiful piece! Patti, please submit it to “Angels on Earth” magazine so many more folks can read and enjoy it! It warms the heart so! My mom and I loved all of the movies you mentioned, too! She especially loved movies with dancing involved like “Shall We Dance” and “Dance With Me”. She never missed a season of Dancing with the Stars, and every Mon and Tues when it’s on, I watch it and think of her! Thank you for awakening such special and tender thoughts!
    Lots of love,
    Sherry 🐘🐘🐘🐘🐘🐘🐘🐘🐘🐘🐘🐘

  4. Smiling and sending much, much love your way today.

    • Thanks so much. I know you know how it is missing your mom. I trust you are having a great day with Lil’D. Happy Mother’s Day!

  5. What a wonderful tribute to your mother! The story is so perfect. I’ve never read or heard of that poem, and I’ll certainly think differently next time I see a penny on the ground. Thank you!

    • Thanks for stopping by. I only know that poem (and some other comparable stories) because it was a big deal to Mom. I do watch for those pennies more now.

  6. I loved this post. I was missing my Mom this Mother’s Day too!

  7. I’m sure she’s with you quite often.

  8. I recently wrote about finding pennies too! I have written about it a few times actually! My mom died in March, and my sister-in-law in April. It was a rough Spring for our family. I keep finding pennies and I really do believe they are messages from them. Thank you for sharing your blog.

  9. […] as I progress through each day.  Of course, I remember her on special occasions.  But I also see her in every hovering hummingbird, in every penny I pick up off the street, and in my Dad’s eyes whenever I visit and we speak of […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

