Learn Something New Every Day!

Is It 2012 Already?

I cannot believe that it is 2012 already.  Where did the time go?  I last posted around Thanksgiving—and now it is January.  I had not planned on not blogging for these last weeks of the year; it just sort of happened.  I even read other blogs rather sporadically and commented even less.  Not sure why.  But I bet there is a short story in those missing weeks.

I started looking for reasons, alphabetically:   Absentmindedness?  Accident?  Adventure?  Alien Abduction?  Asthma Attack?  Avarice?  There is probably a bit of truth and fantasy in every option.  So I will just say the time passed, and I am getting back onto my routine.  Or trying to.  Given what day it is, I resolve to post to my blog at least twice a week, as I intended when I started this adventure.  Other resolutions will be posted later, probably.

As I look back on the holiday season, I do want to say thanks to my blogging friends, who kept busy even while I was silent.  I also appreciated the time I was able to spend with my parents this year—they are both getting older with increasing problems with memory and general aches and pains.  I cannot make things better for them, but I can spend time with them and share memories, pictures, movies, chocolate, and a general good time.  My parents seemed to enjoy the little family open house early in December!

At this time of year, I also just love the Christmas Spirit—colored lights and Secret Santas and reconnecting with friends, spending time with family, enjoying holiday goodies and watching Christmas movies.  It was a good holiday. I do resolve to keep my daily gratitude journal alive, even though I do not post everything from the journal on my blog.

Happy New Year, everyone!  What are you thankful for as the old year moves on and the new year starts?  Any resolutions you want to share?

Comments on: "Is It 2012 Already?" (12)

  1. Good to see I’m not the only one who hasn’t posted anything since Thanksgiving. I’m thankful for my health and for my friends, who are my true family. This year I’m all about the adventure. Life is short, and it’s time to start having more fun!

    • Fun and adventure sound like great resolutions. Our dreams are ahead of us and they are limited only by our own imaginations. Here’s to a great 2012. Thanks for stopping by–and for commiserating with my non-blogging for so long. I am amazed by those who post everyday, even every week, come rain or come shine.

  2. I look forward to reading your posts this year. Also, I like the idea of the gratitude journal.

  3. I enjoyed seeing the photo of your family. I, too, am thankful for the time I’m able to spend with my elderly parents. Each holiday we celebrate together is a blessing. Happy New Year, and I look forward to reading more of your blogs in 2012!

    • Holidays is such a great time for family. It was bittersweet this year. My parents are basically fine, but both are older and failing and feeling down about those changes. Here’s to a great new year for all of us!

  4. I’m grateful for the face mask and body exfoliation I gave myself yesterday! Happy New Year!

    • Terrific. Finding the right gift is an art. Taking the time to give ourselves the occasional gift is essential. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. I guess everyone needs a break now and then. I really backed off on the number of posts too. The holiday season is so short and there’s so much to cram in.

    • You are so right. It amazesme how the holiday season can go by so quickly but be filled with so much. The New Year is always a welcome relief to get back on a routine. Happy New Year! Thanks for stopping by.

  6. I read this way back when you posted, but this is the first time I’ve opened my email on a real computer since before then. I keep using my phone and then saving emails that I want to get back to. Time does fly by!! I took some blogging short cuts during the holidays myself, and next year I may take off altogether.

    I’m glad to see you again, though, and I’m looking forward to spending 2012 with you!

    • Thanks for stopping by. I am glad to hear someone else browses on the cell phone but waits to respond. I am slowly getting back into posting twice a week, still room for improvement. I just enjoy the posts that come my way, no matter how frequently.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

