Learn Something New Every Day!

Something Really Scary!

I love Halloween.

It’s the time of year when even adults often take some time to be silly in public, sharing candy and dressing in costumes.  When I was in the classroom (college writing classes), I would occasionally wear a cat nose of bunny ears to class.  But I really liked giving extra credit points to someone who wore a costume all throughout class when Halloween fell on a class day.  (OK, they also had to write a 200-word minimum paragraph about their costume choice that was perfectly proofread!)  The caveat was that the costume had to be a real, not just “being a student” or something like that.  My favorite was the nun in class—who needed the points—who created a great costume by simply adding a mask.  A Frankenstein full-face mask. Over her to-the-floor black habit.  Well, she wore clunkier shoes too, as I recall.  She was tall, close to 6 feet.  It was an impressive costume!  And I loved seeing the other students figuring out it was okay to laugh with the nun about her costume!

There are other things I like about Halloween.  Linus and the Great Pumpkin Patch come to  mind. So does trick-or-treating.  As a kid, we roamed quite a ways, but that was before the scare of needles in apples and such.  These days I rarely have trick-or-treaters at the door. But I always make sure I have candy on hand to share.  And seeing little kids in costumes is just so fun.  I always had fun carving jack-o-lanterns as well, although mine were never as creative as those in this video.

I also like scary aspect of Halloween.  Haunted Houses.  Creepy decoration displays.  I would love to have a bat, a real one with wings.  It would be cool to have one that would zip down from the eaves to dart (not attack really) the trick-or-treaters.  I also like scary movies.  Not the Halloween and Scream series—I am not into blood, guts and gore. I have never really given Zombies a chance, but should because several blogging friends have shared their delight in that minority group.  I like things like vampire and Frankenstein episodes of the X-Files, the old Twilight Zone and Outer Limits series, the old sci-fi movies such as the originals of The Day the Earth Stood Still or Invasion of the Body SnatchersPoltergeist is a good movie too—“They’re here!”

I especially like the opening and closing scenes of Twilight Zone: The Movie, when the ambulance guy pulls over on the dark road, and pulls off his human looking mask just after asking, “Hey, wanna see something really scary?” And what’s better than the creature on the wing episode, either the William Shatner original or the John Lithgow movie remake?  I have not decided what to watch this holiday weekend. Any suggestions?

But I do have something really scary to share with you right now.  Brace yourself. You might not want the kids exposed to this.  Even if you do not believe, what comes after the image is truly frightening.

 

Ready?

Christmas is exactly two months away!

* * * * * * * * * * *

If you want to be scared by hearing Weird Al Yankovic’s “Another One Rides the Bus” again with a better chance of understanding the lyrics, here’s another video.

Comments on: "Something Really Scary!" (11)

  1. Thinking scary is good sometimes.

  2. Ohhhh…my grandson would love this pumpkin. He’s going to be Mario for Halloween.

    • I wish there were more kids nearby, so I could see all their costumes. Mario sounds fun! Just the idea of dressing-up as a kids is so much fun!

  3. I hope you’ll give zombies a chance! The novel World War Z is excellent, as is the graphic novel The Walking Dead. The movies don’t tend to capture me quite as much, but I loved 28 Days Later and Night of the Living Dead.

    How the heck is it almost Christmas already?! I realized this morning my younger sister is 36 weeks pregnant today. So that means by the time Christmas is one month away, I will likely have a nephew!

    • Thanks for the Zombie book titles. I will add them to my list of books to get in hand! And what a fun prospect to have a new baby in the family for the holidays. Talk about being Thankful and Asking Santa for Something Special.

  4. I like Halloween for the decorations and fun spirit, but I don’t like getting scared! Some of those pumpkins were works of art. I really liked the snowman-like guy who had the knife.

    • I understand about the not liking to be scared part–the scares I like are those I can control and that make me thin, not scream. On those carved pumpkins, the snowman-like one is my favorite too–and (oddly) the one with the cleaver. Happy Halloween!

  5. Great story about the nun! The pumpkin video was awesome, but I just couldn’t get past 30 seconds with Weird Al … simply too scary. I’m not into scary movies, so I can’t be much help. FYI: My upcoming OITS post (up around 9 pm Eastern tonight) has a link to an awesome animation for the season. Happy Halloween!

  6. I love all of the thought that people put into their costumes and decorations for Halloween. By the way, The Day the Earth Stood Still is one of my favorite old movies. My dad got me hooked on that when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

