Learn Something New Every Day!

I am not a Mac user. I do not have an iPhone or and iPod. Still, as I maneuver in the technological world, I cannot avoid the talent, insight and genius of Steven Paul Jobs. His death is a loss for America, for the world. He truly was a national treasure.

I had not initially thought to post anything about his death, especially since many other bloggers were doing just that. I did not see the need for me to raise my voice. But as I read the other blogs, heard the news commentaries, read the NY Times columns, I too felt compelled to light a candle and say, “Steve Jobs, you will be missed, but your legacy will live on in the creativity and ingenuity that continues in the world.”

A terrific way to know Steve Jobs is to listen to his own words. His 2005 Commencement Address at Stanford University offers his advice on how to live your life with passion and hope. One of his bits of advice is “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.” Many have posted the link to this speech. I am too, but the version I am posting includes almost 8 minutes of introductory material that does a great job reviewing Steve’s accomplishments. As you watch, think about what you will do to add creativity and insight to the world, in the honor of Steve Jobs.

Comments on: "Steve Jobs: An Inspiration to Us All" (4)

  1. Yes, his legacy will live on. A great man that changed the world. Bless his soul.

  2. I heard that address for the first time yesterday. Wow … it is filled with so many great nuggets for life!

    My first experience on a computer was an Apple II, but I like you, never owned an Apple product. Yet, I, again like you, realize his contribution – thus acknowledge his is a treasure.

    Well done Patti … have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

