Learn Something New Every Day!

If you love language and if you love writing, reading, and teaching, you will love these videos by Taylor Mali, a teacher, poet, creative artist.  His insights on students and institutions and reading and writing are impressive.  Plus he’s funny, witty, provocative.  So, if you’re weary from grading papers or from proofreading your own or other people’s writing or maybe you are overwhelmed or frustrated by the stupidity that can invade our lives, take a break, watch these videos.  His words will bring you a chuckle or a nod of recognition, maybe a groan. 

The titles are pretty indicative of subject matter.  Enjoy!   

 ___________________________________________ 

P.S.  A friend from graduate school shared these videos—and I have sent them on already via email to many friends.  But I so enjoyed them, I decided I would even figure out how to insert them into this blog.  Sorry for any duplication this may have caused some readers.  If you have any fun videos to share, please do so!  For those grading papers right this minute, take a break and watch at least one of these right now.

Comments on: "If you love language, writing and reading. . ." (7)

  1. I’d seen “What Teachers Make,” but the others are new to me. I only had enough time to watch the first one, but it–like “What Teachers Make”–was a perfect mix between humor and conviction. I especially loved these two sentiments:
    “Have they, like, been chopped down with the rest of the rainforest, y’know?”
    “It’s not enough to “question” authority. You’ve gotta speak with it, too.”

    Humor is such a wonderful device for conveying deep truths. It makes people feel less guilty and more receptive.

    (And wouldn’t you know, I tried inserting an “I think” in there. It’s obvious I think it, else I wouldn’t be typing it! Talk about emphasizing his point!)

    Thanks for this 🙂

  2. Darn it, I didn’t subscribe to comments! Fixing that now . . .

  3. Thanks. You know, it is so easy to overlook little things and to find the joy when humor and conviction work as a team–don’t you think?

  4. Where’s the fun in doing things right from the very beginning?! At least I like to tell myself that, especially when I need to constantly practice. Wasn’t it a Seinfeld epidose that posited that it is impossible to go even a day without at least one good rationalization? I’m for having fun and getting better over time–like a cute little boy I have met through you!

  5. Thanks for sharing these – they are great! Proofreading… teehee!

  6. Glad you liked them–they still make me chuckle, especially proofreading. And to think he doe snot stumble when he shears all thats tuff.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

